General Fuzz – Soulful Filling {mtk212}

Artist: General Fuzz
Soulful Filling
Catalog #:
Release Date:

As we edge into summer, we’re proud to give further exposure to a gorgeous album submitted to Monotonik late last year from James Kirsch, aka General Fuzz, and the truly spectacular chill-out electronic that is ‘Soulful Filling’.

Having grown up in Newton, MA, General Fuzz is happy to make his home in the San Francisco Bay Area, and he recruited a number of talented local live musicians to fill out the electronic sounds on this charming full-length album. (In fact, his website has a detailed ‘making-of’ page with info on all the collaborators.)

Highlights? Well, pedal steel has been a key part of the best chillout for many years now, and ‘Warm Steel’ is a great example of that in action, while lead-off track ‘Eye Heart Knot’ has a tremendously evocative, interlocking set of melodies around it.

We’re proud that the General has let us put this album out on Monotonik – donate to him to help support his art if you dig it, won’t you?

pic by general fuzz

01 – Eye Heart Knot
02 – Four Prophets
03 – Comfort Zone
04 – Mellow Drama
05 – Warm Steel
06 – Go Inward
07 – Starry
08 – Second Thoughts
09 – Walking Home
10 – Fuzzy Prayer
11 – Goodbyes

Full Art

Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 United States (CC BY-NC-ND 3.0 US)

%d bloggers like this: