Aleksi Eeben – The White Box {mtk139}

Artist: Aleksi Eeben
The White Box
Catalog #:
Release Date:

Finnish old-school Amiga demo scene legend Aleksi Eeben, aka Heatbeat, has never really let up on the composition, but has, rather wonderfully, regressed in his choice of hardware over time, from Amiga, through Commodore 64, to Vic-20, with sideways glances to the Game Boy. But it’s his C64 equivalent of ‘The White Album’, the appropriately named ‘The White Box’, which sums up some of his borderline deviant SID-chip excursions over the previous few years.

The actual ‘White Box’ artifact is a Commodore 64 disc image (try emulators like CCS64 or Vice), a 32- song compilation released at the Alternative Party in Helsinki in January 2004. It includes tracks released on Eeben’s previous Monotonik releases, as well as a host of new tracks. It also comes with ‘liner notes’ by Monotonik founder Simon Carless, in the form of a surreal scrolltext to accompany each separate song – thousands of words of semi-abstracted, happily burbling weirdness. You can also download all the .SID files, if you’d prefer to listen to all 32 tracks. But the 8-track MP3 mini-album that highlights the new compositions for ‘The White Box’, all made with Aleksi’s own John Player ‘tracker’ he coded for the C64, may be your place to start.

So, we commence with ‘Ground Expansion’, all pensive and synthesizedly brassy, before the insanely funky ‘Invitation’ cuts in, and we have some serious grooving to do. Over the next few tracks, we run the gamut from bright, breezy, and perky (‘Return To Forever’), through positively tribal (‘Mnambo’), all the way up to sardonic and abstracted (‘Landscape’). Eeben’s style often seems tremendously out there – clearly jazz-influenced, melodically abstract, but capable of wonderful twists and turns. It’s obviouslythis that attracted fellow CNCD member and friend Juha ‘Dizzy’ Kujanpaa, himself another Amiga scene legend, who created his own live, real-instrument take on Aleksi’s C64 track ‘Motivation’ for a fitting finale. Now we’re motivated, too, to drool.

pic by White Box designer

01 – The All Family Stomp [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
02 – Rock’n’Roll Butterfly [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
03 – Chill [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
04 – Good Citizen’s Tango [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
05 – Force Music [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
06 – Free Fall [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
07 – The Grand Rules Intro [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
08 – The Grand Rules Part 1 [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
09 – The Grand Rules Part 2 [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
10 – The Grand Rules Part 3 [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
11 – The Grand Rules Part 4 [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
12 – Shapers [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
13 – Invitation [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
14 – Flight of the Bumblebee [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
15 – Moontimer [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
16 – Landscape [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
17 – Motivation [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
18 – Mnambo [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
19 – Onward [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
20 – Pond [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
21 – One Channel Music [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
22 – The Radio Challenge [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
23 – Sadness [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
24 – Return to Forever [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
25 – Purity [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
26 – Round Blue Rath [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
27 – Water Music [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
28 – Randomizer [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
29 – Music for Computers [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
30 – Radiator [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
31 – Ground Expansion [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
32 – 75% Sale Rea (Buy More Remix) [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]

MP3 Higlights:
01 – Ground Expansion
02 – Invitation
03 – Return to Forever
04 – Round Blue Rath
05 – The Radio Challenge
06 – Mnambo
07 – Landscape
08 – Motivation (Juha Kujanpaa Mix)

Front Cover

Additonal Files:
thewhitebox [D64]
Liner Notes [PDF]

*FLAC & MP3 zips also include the original versions.

Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.0 Generic (CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)

%d bloggers like this: