Aleksi Eeben – Music Box {mtk078}

Artist: Aleksi Eeben
Music Box
Catalog #:
Release Date:

After releasing a pseudonymous EP from Finland’s Aleksi Eeben a few months ago, we kept an eye on his work further, only to discover the _amazing_ Commodore 64 work he’s been doing with his self-coded John Player, which brings a ‘tracker’-style interface to bear on the C64. And if you’re wondering who this Aleksi fellow is and where he came from – well, as Heatbeat of the infamous CNCD, he was regularly voted one of the best ever Amiga .MOD composers back in the early ’90s.

So, given a few years, and a platform move _backwards_ this time round, heh, Aleksi’s work just keeps getting better. This collection of .SIDs, 18 in all, plus a ‘best-of’ selection of 7 .MP3 conversions, were specially ripped for Monotonik from the Commodore 64 “Music Box” music-disc series which have been released over the past 3 or 4 months, and which would otherwise be far too obscure for anyone’s good.

In any case, grab the .SIDs for the full picture, but if you want to delve into the .MP3s as a start point, try the insane catchiness of “75% Sale”, the messed-up c64 d+b of “Flight Of The Bumblebee”, or the superclever- ness of “The All-Family Stomp”. But, believe us, it’s all good.

cover by h0l!

01 – 75% Sale Rea (Buy More Remix) [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
02 – Ambient Music [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
03 – Arabia [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
04 – Fire Fighter [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
05 – Flight Of The Bumblebee [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
06 – Force Music [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
07 – Free Fall [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
08 – Friendly Robots [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
09 – Good Citizen’s Tango [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
10 – Ground Expansion [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
11 – Kopa Korv [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
12 – Moontimer [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
13 – Music For Computers [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
14 – One Channel Music [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
15 – Return To Forever [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
16 – Rock’n’Roll Butterfly [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
17 – Sadness [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]
18 – The All Family Stomp [SID] [FLAC] [MP3]

MP3 Higlights:
01 – 75% Sale Rea (Buy More Remix)
02 – Good Citizen’s Tango
03 – Flight Of The Bumblebee
04 – The All Family Stomp
05 – Rock’n’Roll Butterfly
06 – Free Fall
07 – Sadness

Front Cover

*FLAC & MP3 zips also include the original versions.

Attribution-NoDerivs-NonCommercial 1.0 Generic (CC BY-ND-NC 1.0)

%d bloggers like this: